<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> 2014 Franklin A. Davis Symposium


campus map
(pdf, Morgan is #30)

Liacouras - corner of 15th & C. B. Moore

registration - there is no registration fee but we encourage you to let us know you are coming by sending us an email.

sustenance - Coffee breaks and a reception are provided. An hour and a half is allotted for lunch. Attendees have numerous local options. A dinner is planned, with a $40 fee if desired. Join us for dinner by registering here.


Temple University's
Department of Chemistry and
College of Science & Technology
are pleased to present the

Franklin A. Davis

Wednesday 29 October 2014
8:30 AM – 5:30 PM
Followed by a reception

Morgan Hall - 3rd floor, Temple University

download the poster!

Sarah E. Wengryniuk (Temple University)
Michael P. Doyle (University of Maryland)

8:30 – 12:30
Professor Erik J. Sorensen – Princeton University
Seeking "What If" Ideas in Organic Chemical Synthesis

Dr. Chris H. Senanayake - Boehringer Ingelheim Pharm.
Important Catalytic Transformations for Drug Development

Dr. Bruce E. Maryanoff - The Scripps Research Institute
Novel Mimetics of Apolipoprotein A-I as Anti-atherosclerosis Agents

Professor Madeleine M. Joullié - University of Pennsylvania
Stretching Boundaries: Integration of Fermentation and Organic Synthesis

Dr. Bang-Chi Chen - ACUNIPHARMA
Practical Innovative Synthesis in Process R&D - Case Studies

2:00 – 5:30
Professor Jeffrey N. Johnston - Vanderbilt University
On-Demand Synthesis of Therapeutics and Peptides

Professor Ronald Wetzel
- Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Forty-five Years Post-FAD and Chemistry is Still (Mostly) Fun

Dr. Cynthia A. Maryanoff - Baruch S Blumberg Institute
Dynamics Of Drug Release From Two Different Polymer Systems In Drug-Eluting Cardiovascular Stents

Professor Amos B. Smith III
- University of Pennsylvania
The Design, Synthesis and Validation of Small Molecule HIV-1 Entry Inhibitors Mimicking CD4

With special remarks by
Professor Carl R. Johnson - Wayne State University
Professor Franklin A Davis - Temple University

Reception - 5:30 – 7:00 Morgan Hall

Dinner - La Viola Restaurant, 252 S. 16th Street ($40)


Rodrigo B. Andrade
Scott McN. Sieburth
William M. Wuest